Friday, June 21, 2013

Huawei Collaborates in METIS Research for 5G

Huawei announced its participation in the METIS project, an initiative co-funded by the European Commission as an Integrated Project under the Seventh Framework Programme for research and development (FP7).

METIS, which stands for Mobile and wireless communications Enablers for the Twenty-twenty Information Society, aims to explore the foundations for 5G wireless systems.

Huawei said it is playing the leading role in the Radio Link Technology stream. The company recently sponsored a METIS project meeting in Munich, which gathered together more than 140 researchers from industry, carriers and universities.

Huawei expects 5G wireless networks will emerge in the market between 2020 and 2030, potentially delivering access speeds of up to 10G.

"There are a lot of innovations that need to be created and a lot of technology challenges need to be overcome to create 5G solutions. At Huawei, our researchers are studying the new radio link technologies and new radio access network architecture. We are also working on prototyping and have conducted field trials on cloud-based radio access networks (so called Cloud-RAN). We are playing a leading role in 5G wireless technology development," stated Dr. Wen Tong, Huawei Fellow and the head of Huawei Communications Technologies Labs.

Partners in METIS include: Ericsson (DE, SE), Aalborg University (DK), Aalto University (FI), AlcatelLucent (DE), BMW Group Research and Technology (DE), Chalmers University of
Technology (SE), Deutsche Telekom (DE), DOCOMO (DE, JP), Elektrobit (FI), France Telecom-Orange (FR), FraunhoferGesellschaft (DE), Huawei Technologies GmbH (DE), KTH-Royal Institute of Technology (SE), National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (GR), Nokia Corporation (FI), Nokia Siemens Networks (DE, FI, PL), University of Oulu (FI), Poznan University of Technology (PL), RWTH Aachen (FI), Institut Mines-Télécom (FR), Telecom Italia (IT), Telefónica (ES), University of Bremen (DE), University of Kaiserslautern (DE), and Universitat Politècnica de València (ES).

See also