Thursday, November 1, 2012

OIF Approves Security IAs and Elects Leaders

The Optical Internetworking Forum approved three security implementation agreements (IAs) and elected several new directors and committee chairs. 

The newly approved IAs include:

Security for Management Interfaces to Network Elements 2.0
Network elements have OAM&P interfaces used for network management, billing andaccounting, configuration, error logging, maintenance and other administrative activities unprotected. This IA defines improved mechanisms for securing and protecting OAM&P interfaces to a network element. 

Security Extension for UNI and E-NNI 2.1
This IA defines and updates common Security Extensions for securing the protocols used in the OIF’s UNI and E-NNI which calls for a complete, unified and simplified approach to security.

OIF Control Plane Logging and Auditing with Syslog Version 1.1
This IA addresses updates for controlling and securing the generation, transport and storage of log data to enable an auditing capability for the OIF’s UNI and E-NNI.

Newly elected to the board of directors are John McDonough of NEC, who will serve a one-year term as vice president of marketing, and David Stauffer of IBM and Hans-Martin Foisel of Deutsche Telekom who will each serve a two-year term as a board member.  

Also newly elected is Joe Whitehouse of Metaswitch Networks, who will serve a one-year term as the Market Awareness& Education co-chair, Networking.

Re-elected to the OIF board of directors are the following;

Ghani Abbas of Ericsson, who will serve a two-year term, was appointed Secretary/Treasurer, and Vishnu Shukla of Verizon, who will extend his term as vice president for one-year.

Re-elected as OIF officers and committee chairs are the following;
Jonathan Sadler of Tellabs as Technical Committee chair, 
Nathan Tracy of TE Connectivity as Technical Committee vice-chair, 
Rod Smith of TE Connectivity as Market Awareness & Education co-chair, PLL, and 
Torsten Wuth of Nokia Siemens Networks as the Physical Layer User Group chair.