Wednesday, December 7, 2011

U.S. Senate Commerce Committee Approves FCC Nominees

The U.S. Senate's Commerce Committee voted to approve President Obama's two nominations for FCC Commissioners: Ajit Pai and Jessica Rosenworcel. The nominations now must be approved by the full Senate.

Jessica Rosenworcel, who would replace Michael Copps when his term ends in December, is the Senior Communications Counsel for the United States Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. She has worked for Senator Jay Rockefeller IV since 2009. Rosenworcel worked at the FCC from 1999 to 2007, serving as Legal Advisor and then Senior Legal Advisor to Commissioner Michael J. Copps (2003-2007), Legal Counsel to the Bureau Chief of the Wireline Competition Bureau (2002-2003), and as an Attorney-Advisor in the Policy Division of the Common Carrier Bureau (1999-2002). She holds a B.A. from Wesleyan University and a J.D. from New York University School of Law.

Ajit Varadaraj Pai, who would take the seat abandoned by Meredith Baker who took a job as a lobbyist for Comcast, is a Partner in the Litigation Department of Jenner & Block LLP. Previously, Pai worked in the Office of the General Counsel at the Federal Communications Commission, where he served as Deputy General Counsel, Associate General Counsel, and Special Advisor to the General Counsel. He holds a B.A. from Harvard University and a J.D. from the University of Chicago.