Wednesday, October 19, 2011

MRV Announces Resignation of Chairman

Dr. Ken Shubin Stein, the current chairman of MRV Communications, has resigned from the Board and has been replaced by current Board member Philippe Tartavull as interim chairman. The Board also announced that current Chief Executive Officer, Dilip Singh, has also resigned from the Board. The changes will be effective immediately. Mr. Singh remains as chief executive officer of the Company and he and the Board of Directors look forward to negotiating in good faith an extension of his employment contract through July, 2012.

The Board also announced that Mr. Robert Pons and Mr. Ken Traub have been appointed to the Board of Directors to fill the vacancies created by the departures of Dr. Shubin Stein and Mr. Singh. The Board intends to commence a search for a ninth independent Board member who, upon election, will take over as chairman of the Board.