Saturday, September 17, 2011

Seven States Join Suit to Block AT&T-T-Mobile Deal

AT&T's bid to acquire T-Mobile faced another set-back, as seven states joined the U.S Department of Jusctice's lawsuit to block the deal. These states are California, Illinois, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Washington, which represent a sizable portion of the U.S. population.

"Our review of the proposed merger between AT&T and T-Mobile has led me to conclude that it would hinder competition and reduce consumer choice. Today we joined the United States Department of Justice in filing suit to prevent this merger. Enforcement of antitrust law is the responsibility of the Attorney General and is vital to protecting our state's economic strength and tradition of innovation for the betterment of all Californians. I look forward to working with the parties involved to resolve this matter in a way that will create jobs in our state, encourage a vibrant technology sector, and protect competition in the marketplace," stated California Attorney General Kamala D. Harris.