Tuesday, November 30, 2010

OIF Approves Security Agreement

The Optical Internetworking Forum (OIF) approved a new Implementation Agreement (IA) for securing the control plane protocols specified in the OIF's UNI and E-NNI IAs. Specifically, the Security Extension for UNI and E-NNI 2.0 IA specifies an optional-to-implement profile of IPsec for securing the control plane. It defines a complete, high-quality, interoperable system to secure all control plane traffic exchanged between two network elements. It also defines additional security services and mechanisms that implementations can include for fine-grained control of security.

In addition, members elected new working group chairs and board members. Newly elected to the OIF board of directors are Vishnu Shukla of Verizon, Lyndon Ong of Ciena, and Torsten Wuth of Nokia Siemens Networks. Shukla will serve as the vice president, Ong as the vice president of marketing and Wuth as a board member.

The membership re-elected Martha Fratt of AT&T and Ghani Abbas of Ericsson as board members. Fratt will continue her role as the OIF treasurer/secretary.

Jim Jones of Alcatel-Lucent, an existing board member, will serve as the new president of the OIF. Rounding out the board of directors is Jeff Hutchins of Cisco Systems who continues to serve as a board member.

Newly elected working group chairs are Remi Theillaud of Marben Products as Architecture and Signaling Working Group chair and Tom Palkert of Luxtera as Physical and Link Layer Interoperability Working Group chair. Torsten Wuth was re-elected as the Physical Layer User Group chair.