Monday, August 3, 2009

MEF Announces Key Appointments

The Metro Ethernet Forum (MEF) announced the results of its 2010 Board of Directors elections.

President: Nan Chen

Chairman: Dennis Kruse, Vice President Network Solutions, Orange Business Services,

COO: Kevin Vachon

Treasurer: Matt Squire, Chief Technology Officer, Hatteras Networks

Director and Secretary: Arie Goldberg, Chief Technologist, CEO and Co-founder, Omnitron Systems,

Other board appointments are, in alphabetic order: Margaret Chiosi, Executive Director of Optics and Ethernet Development, AT&T; Craig Easley, Vice President of Marketing, Matisse Networks; Lionel Florit, Senior Manager, Cisco Systems; Robert Kuse, Transport Planning & Architecture, Cox Communications; Kevin O'Toole, Vice President of Product Management & Strategy, Comcast; Ralph Santitoro, Director of Carrier Ethernet Market Development, Fujitsu and Michael Joseph Volgende, Director Global Ethernet Services, Verizon.

Zhao Huiling, Vice President China Telecom Beijing Research Institute, also joins the team as a second Advisory Director alongside Robert Metcalfe, Ethernet inventor.

The MEF also announced a new format for its service provider awards program, with added categories to reflect the significant industry advances in Carrier Ethernet services deployment and the diverse and expanding range of service providers taking advantage part in this growth segment of the telecommunications industry. The MEF Carrier Ethernet Service Provider Awards -- 2009, judged by panels of leading regional and global telecoms analysts, will be offered in the same three global regions as before -- Americas, EMEA and APAC -- with four categories to choose from.  These include Best Marketing, Best Service Innovation and Best Service Portfolio, while the fourth category, Service Provider of the Year, will be awarded to the provider in each region with the highest cumulative score for all the above categories, with additional consideration for service coverage.