Monday, March 19, 2007

DSL Forum Releases Technical Reports, Elects New Board

Following its annual meeting in Vancouver earlier this month, the DSL Forum released two new technical reports and announced the election of new board members. The newly approved technical specifications include TR-100 ADSL2/2plus Performance Test Plan and TR-126 Triple-play Services Quality of Experience Requirements.

TR-100 builds on TR-67 (ADSL Interoperability Test Plan) and evolves the ADSL test plan to address the higher speed options. With the launch of common performance standards, service providers can reduce costs and time to market by enabling independent testing laboratories (ITLs) to perform product interoperability tests against a standardized test suite.

TR-126 provides an extensive reference model for measuring key performance indicators associated with a user's quality of experience for bandwidth intensive applications such as video (video on demand, and broadcast video), voice and best-effort data (web browsing, gaming). These baseline expectations then correspond to objective engineering targets, critical to the market success of broadband service offerings, and they are an example of the new focus of activities that the Forum is undertaking. TR-126 is already being referenced in IPTV work by both ATIS and the ITU-T IPTV Focus Group.

In addition the Forum continued its work on VDSL2 test plan development, home networking specifications for remote management and CPE requirements, GPON architecture requirements, network policy control and IP session management solutions.

The DSL Forum members elected two new directors and re-elected four directors. The new members elected to the board of directors are Les Brown of Texas Instruments and Michael Hanrahan of Huawei Technologies. Les Brown also serves as Chair of the Testing & Interoperability Working Group within the Forum and Michael Hanrahan has been a strategic leader in the development of stronger Asian region participation as well as instrumental in defining current policy and procedures within the Forum.

Directors who were re-elected for a further two year term were: Tom Starr, AT&T, George Dobrowski, Conexant, Heather Kirksey, Motive and Greg Bathrick, PMC-Sierra. Richard Cardone, Marketing Director of Tazz Networks was elected as marketing chair.

Following the election of the DSL Forum's 2007 Board of Directors, George Dobrowski was named chairman and president, Tom Starr named vice president and secretary and Frank Van der Putten, Alcatel-Lucent, was named vice president and treasurer.