Wednesday, November 9, 2005

Whitacre to Serve as Chairman & CEO of New AT&T

Edward E. Whitacre Jr., 64, will serve as the Chairman & CEO of the new AT&T. The SBC acquisition of AT&T is expected to close later this month. The company announced the following appointments for its senior management team:

  • James W. Callaway, 59, group president-merger transition.

  • James Cicconi, 53, senior executive vice president-external and legislative affairs, responsible for managing the company's public policy organization.

  • James D. Ellis, 62, senior executive vice president and general counsel.

  • Karen E. Jennings, 54, senior executive vice president-human resources and corporate communications.

  • James S. Kahan, 58, senior executive vice president-corporate development.

  • Rick Lindner, 50, senior executive vice president and chief financial officer.

  • Forrest E. Miller, 52, group president-AT&T, in charge of leading the national and global network, enterprise and consumer operations of the existing AT&T, as well as AT&T Labs. Miller will also help lead the integration of the two companies.

  • Randall L. Stephenson, 45, chief operating officer, retaining his current responsibilities and also helping integrate operations of SBC and AT&T.

  • Rayford Wilkins, Jr., 54, group president in charge of directory operations, international operations and the company's Sterling Commerce subsidiary.

In addition, the company announced that David Dorman, 51, current CEO and chairman of AT&T, will become president of the new AT&T and a member of the board of directors for a brief transition period, after which he will resign from both positions. Dorman will then continue as a consultant to the combined company.