Thursday, October 13, 2005

European Commission Acts to Open Telecom Competitive

The European Commission is taking action against nine Member States -- Belgium, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland and Slovenia -- to ensure competitive conditions in these markets.

Formal notices have been sent to seven EU Member States for so far failing to notify it of electronic communications market reviews required by the EU regulatory framework for electronic communications. The Member States concerned now have two months to respond to the Commission's concerns. Further infringement proceedings have been opened against Estonia because of legal deficiencies regarding definition of markets and transitional regime; and against Cyprus and Slovenia, where the independence of the national telecom regulator is not yet in line with EU law requirements.

See also